Thu 11/07/2019

Four-banded bee grabber Conops quadrifasciatus
Four-banded bee grabber Conops quadrifasciatus

Early this morning, the conservatory was full of hover flies as usual, tapping against the ceiling and generally causing a commotion. One of them seemed an odd shape though, so I tracked down my camera and took a couple of shots of it. Here is it; it’s the same size and colouring as the general run of hover flies, but is quite clearly something different – o robber fly, I would say.

So I sent a tweet out to the universe to see if anybody could I d it for me. It turns out to be a conopid or ‘thick headed’ fly, which seems a bit harsh. They are not classified as robber flies, although their sturdy legs allow them to capture other flies in flight and deposit their eggs. This one goes by the picturesque name of the ‘four-banded bee grabber’, with the Latin name Conops quadrifasciatus. Thanks to Biodiversity Ireland and Ryan Mitchell for those two identifications respectively! Ray Cannon’s Nature Notes has a page on this species here.

I also noticed at the back of the garden that several of our Solomon’s seal plants are absolutely shredded. This is usually the work of Solomon’s seal sawfly caterpillars, which are a mid-grey and live underneath the leaves – but I lifted up a number of leaves and couldn’t find any. Later in the day, on my return, I still couldn’t find any caterpillars, so I’m a bit puzzled.

 

They usually wallop all the plants at once starting from the bottom up, but this time they seem to have started by the back gate and are working their way outwards. Maybe it is something completely different doing it?

 

Anyway, this smallish moth appeared in the office where I work, buzzed around the room for a bit, then settled on the window blind, so I got this photo.

 

Write a comment

Comments: 0

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art