Wed 10/05/17

Ring-necked (or rose-ringed) parakeet Psittacula krameri
Ring-necked (or rose-ringed) parakeet Psittacula krameri

Now here’s something I didn’t realise. I know about the rose-ringed, or ring-necked parakeets – they became naturalised in the London area relatively recently, especially around Kew Gardens, where they have been a familiar site for decades. The population has been gradually spreading out from there; I always see some on the outskirts of London whenever I go up there, and I saw my first example in Gravesend in April 2009. Then today we were in Birchington, just west of Margate at the far eastern end of Kent, and I saw this one in a tree in someone’s garden. I had no idea they had spread so far, although according to Wikipedia, there is a separate established population down there. Another thing I didn’t realise is that only the male has the well-defined ring on the neck.

Listen to Chalkhill Blue at Bandcamp.com!

 

If you would like to listen to the music of Chalkhill Blue for free, or purchase a download or CD, please click the link below.

 

Downloads can be purchased per track or whole album.

 

CDs include a full 8-page inlay booklet with notes on each track.

 

The Chalkhill Blue Album!

 

 

See also:

 

iTunes !

 

Facebook

 

Twitter

 

YouTube

 

CD Baby

 

Fandalism

 

Soundcloud

 

MySpace

 

CLASSIC ROCK SOCIETY!

 

See the Chalkhill Blue CD at:

 

Rock Bottom Records, Whitstable 

 

or click on the above graphic to buy online.

 

Caroline Battenburg Art